top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobbie Page

2023 MTA Rendezvous Highlights

The MTA 2023 rendezvous, in Chillicothe, Missouri is now in the books. It was a fun filled weekend of seeing old friends and making new ones. There were trapping demonstrations from some of the best trappers in the business, there were trapping supplies from numerous vendors to supply you with all of your trapping needs and fun and games for everyone.

Miss Missouri, Hayley Leach and Miss Rodeo Missouri, Twi-Anna Coleman were there showing off their fur vests that the MTA awarded them with at their pageants when they were awarded their crowns. The MTA proudly sponsors these young ladies each year. The MTA not only honors these ladies with a fur vest but the MTA also proudly provides them with their autograph pictures in which the MTA name and logo is printed on them as a sponsor.

There were plenty of games and contests for everyone who wanted to get involved. There was a scavenger hunt both days for ages up to 15. Saturday there was trap setting contests for the kids, men’s 330 conibear speed setting, mountain man race and a women’s skillet toss. The first place age 9 and under trap setting contest went to Lydia Hostetler, second place went to Madalen McDaris and third place went to Jesse Hostetler. In the ages 10-14 division the first place winner went to Max Ketchum, second place went to Jewish Donaldson and third place went to Bailey Warner. The age 15-17 year old division first place went to Thomas Lee, second place to Cole Ketchum and third went to Matt Lehman. The winner of the adult 330 contest went to Rick Hemseth, second went to Kevin Whitworth and third went to Drew Buersmeyer. First place of the adult multi trap contest went to Jordan McGinnis, second went to Rick Hemseth and third belongs to Andy Lehmen. The women’s skillet toss winner went to Taylor Markway, Sarah McDaris got second and Cari Lane won third. Last but not least the first place winners of the mountain man race went to Drew Buersmeyer and Jordan McGinnis and second went to Matt and Andy Lehman.

Later Saturday afternoon was the general meeting where there were a few things that were discussed and voted on and afterwards was the awards ceremony. The Presidents Award went to Cindy Creech, Director of the Year went to Hank Wendt, Ken Drenon received the Appreciation Award, Tom Westhoff was awarded the Trapper of the year. Pam Samuals, Brenda Pickett, Penny Adkins and Joslyn “Speedy” Search were all awarded Certificates of Appreciation. The recipients of the Hall of Fame Award were Charles Zelch, Charles Smith and Ann Scarlet. Ann is the first woman who has ever been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Lastly, Saturday night ended with a Bob Whitworth Memorial Washer Tournament and also something new this year, a cornhole tournament. All in all it turned out to be a great convention and the weather could not have been better. Congratulations to Trevor Sousley and District 7, Vice President, Kelly Turner and all of the volunteers that worked hard to make it happen. Until next year!!

379 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page